World Series

MLB World Series Winners: Teams with the Most World Series Championships

At the end of each Major League Baseball season, one club is awarded the sport’s ultimate accolade, known as “a piece of metal.” Not even Rob Manfred can do the Commissioner’s Trophy justice with his description. Only one baseball team may claim victory after a 162-game regular season and month-long playoffs.


Worthy of mention are the New York Yankees, who have won the World Series a record 27 times, with their nearest competitors in terms of victories being the St. Louis Cardinals, who have raised the trophy 11 times. However, Yankees supporters have been left wanting success in recent years as the club won the World Series for the last time in 2009.

MLB World Series Winners: Teams with the Most World Series Championships

The Houston Astros were victorious in the World Series against the Philadelphia Phillies in 2022. As a result, they were crowned champions, raking in money for those who backed the Astros in this year’s MLB betting.

As of 2022, 117 teams have won the World Series since its inception in 1903. However, regarding the number of trophies won, one side dominates the competition. Take a look at the list below to see which teams have claimed the most and least World Series titles.


Number of World Series Titles

New York Yankees


St. Louis Cardinals


Boston Red Sox


Los Angeles Dodgers


New York Giants


Philadelphia Athletics


Pittsburgh Pirates


Cincinnati Reds


Atlanta Braves


Detroit Tigers


Oakland Athletics


Baltimore Orioles


Chicago White Sox


San Francisco Giants


History of MLB World Series

Baseball has a lengthy history in North America, going back as far as the 1850s when it was tagged the national sport. The National Association of BaseBall Players, the sport’s initial regulatory organization, was established in the New York metropolitan region before the end of the nineteenth century.

Today, the American League (AL) and the National League (NL) are both parts of Major League Baseball (MLB), which serves as the ruling authority of pro baseball in the United States and Canada. Each league comprises 15 clubs and is divided into three divisions. The MLB World Series is considered to be the most significant event of the baseball season. It is played each year in October between the teams who won their respective league championship series.

History of the Yankees

In 1901, the baseball team, now known as the Yankees, was founded in Baltimore under the name, The Orioles. In 1913, the team moved to New York and changed its name to reflect its new location. Major League Baseball’s most valued franchise is the New York Yankees, play in the American League.

The club’s brand value was expected to be over six billion United States dollars in 2022, which was a significant margin over the Los Angeles Dodgers, who were in second position with a value of slightly over four billion United States dollars.

Yankee Stadium, located in the Bronx neighborhood of New York City, is where the New York Yankees play their home games. Baseball games may be played in the stadium, which has a capacity of a little over 47,000 people. However, the average number of fans in attendance for a Yankees game during the 2019 season was just under 42,000 people.

Consequently, a total of 3.3 million people attended Yankee Stadium games during the season. This number is a significant drop compared to the 4.3 million fans who watched the games in person during the 2008 season.

MLB Teams with the Most Consecutive World Series Titles

The Yankees are the franchise with the most consecutive World Series crowns, a feat they achieved by winning the title five times in a row between 1949 and 1953.

In the history of Major League Baseball, there have been just 14 teams who have won numerous World Series in succession. The New York Yankees were the team that most recently accomplished this feat, as they won three championships in a row between the years 1998 and 2000.

MLB Teams Yet to Bag a World Series Title

Six Major League Baseball clubs are still looking to win their first title. These teams include the San Diego Padres, the Seattle Mariners, the Texas Rangers, the Tampa Bay Rays, the Milwaukee Brewers, and the Colorado Rockies.

While the Brewers and the Rockies have made it to the World Series just once, the Padres, Rays and Rangers have all featured in the prestigious tournament twice. The Seattle Mariners are the only team in Major League Baseball that has never competed in the World Series.


The dominance of the New York Yankees as one of the world’s most profitable and well-known sports brands is, without a shadow of a doubt, owing, in no small part, to the team’s successes on the baseball pitch. They hold the record for the most, and consecutive titles.

Other teams, such as the LA Dodgers, are also doing well to catch up with this dominant team, and their fans can only hope they continue in the current trajectory.

0 0 votes
Do you agree with this article? Let's see your vote!
0 0 votes
Do you agree with this article? Let's see your vote!
Notify of

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x